North America

American Convention on Human Rights (Pact of San José)

1969, in force since 1978
San José, Costa Rica
24 Signatories
According to its preamble, the purpose of the Convention is "to consolidate in this hemisphere, within the framework of democratic institutions, a system of personal liberty and social justice based on respect for the essential rights of man."

Inter-American Convention to Prevent and Punish Torture (IACPPT)

1985, in force since 1987
Cartagena de Indias, Colombia
20 Signatories (18 ratified)
The Inter-American Convention defines torture more expansively than the United Nations Convention Against Torture, including "the use of methods upon a person intended to obliterate the personality of the victim or to diminish his physical or mental capacities, even if they do not cause physical pain or mental anguish." The Convention is one of a series of OAS agreements that seek to protect human rights, within the framework of the American Convention on Human Rights, which bans torture in less detail. The Convention also requires states to take effective measures to prevent torture within their borders, and creates an ability to extradite persons accused of torture.

Inter-American Convention on the Elimination of All Forms of Discrimination Against Persons with Disabilities

1999, in force since 2001
Guatemala City, Guatemela
18 Signatories
The Inter-American Convention on the Elimination of All Forms of Discrimination Against Persons with Disabilities is a regional human rights instrument within the Organization of American States. It calls on states to facilitate the full integration of persons with disabilities into society through legislation, social initiatives and educational programmes.

Inter-American Convention on Prevention, Punishment and Eradication of Violence Against Women

1994, in force since 1995
Belém do Pará, Brasil
29 Signatories
The Convention of Belém do Parà is a binding treaty inspired by the United Nations Declaration on the Elimination of Violence Against Women (1993). The Convention includes provisions referring to: a number of concrete measures that States Parties agree to carry out with all appropriate means and without delay; another series of measures and programmes that States Parties agree to undertake and implement progressively; the need to take into account the plight of particularly vulnerable groups of women including migrants, refugees, and women who have been targeted by reason of their race or ethnic background; and, the reporting and redress mechanisms under the Convention.